The Set Up

“So many utensils! Which side plate is mine?” Have no fear, I am going to clear up some of these confusions.

Utensils:

The most important rule: Eat from the outside – in. A properly set table, like the one below, will have:

Appetizer/salad forks furthest on the left  (B)

Soup spoon furthest on the right (J)

After that work your way in, you will have your 2nd course and or main course utensils (C,D, H, I) as you move in.  (often C and D are the same size as well)

The dessert cutlery is located above your plate (M and N).

Side Plates: 

Consider the acronym BMW (1)

Bread, Main, Water in order from left to right.  Your bread plate is located to your left (K), as shown in the picture.  Your water and wine will be on the right (O,P,Q).

Napkins: 

This summer I was at a CAFP conference and attended an information session with Joanne Blake and Terry Pithers, a couple who provide professional style advice.  They suggested you fold the napkin into a triangle, with the pointy end closest to your knees.  This way if your fingers get dirty you can discretely wipe them inside the folded napkin, leaving the top of the napkin free of stains, foods or sauces. (2)

Usually people place the napkin entirely unfolded on their lap. If you wipe some sauce on the napkin and then go to place your hands on your lap after finishing the meal, the sauce is still there and now you’ve got it on your hands and shirt too!

Try this handy tip next time you eat out anywhere!

Once you are finished at the table you may leave the napkin slightly folded to the left of your plate.

FUN FACT:

If you ever dine with the Queen you must place your fork prongs down when you are finished! (3)

10 thoughts on “The Set Up

  1. Your napkin tip is absolutely brilliant! I’ve never perfectly understood how napkins were a good idea, especially when wearing nicer clothing. (And I don’t know about you, but cloth napkins and fancy clothing often go hand in hand for me!) Please keep the tips coming!

  2. I love the tip about the napkin. I admit I’m a bit of a messy eater and I’m always using my napkin. At the end of a meal when I take my napkin off my lap, I’ll feel self-conscience of the stains on it and how everyone can see them. I’m definitely going to try folding it now!

  3. Hi Tayler,

    Thanks for teaching me how to not be a slob haha! Whenever I’m at my partner’s place I worry about my etiquette, this looks like a pretty stellar way to impress his folks! I’m looking forward to future posts from you!

    🙂
    Andrea

  4. I love the idea of your blog! so creative and so original! I think more people could use this knowledge! I work serving weddings and there’s ALWAYS a handful at the wedding who have NO idea what utensil to use or what glass is there’s! This is great! Can’t wait to see what you talk about next!

    • I cater weddings too, and it drives me nuts when people use their dessert forks for the appetizer! It makes it really awkward for the servers to clear as well!

  5. Hi Tayler,

    Thanks for all the information. I used to have no idea which utensils to use for what. I went to a big fancy dinner one and it was really embarassing. Maybe now I’ll fit in and know exactly what to do. haha I also liked the napkin tip. Did you take the fine dining course here at Guelph?

    Sarah S.

  6. Great blog, I really like your idea to discuss etiquette! The napkin tip is great and something I am definitely going to try. Thank you for tip!

  7. This post was very helpful! It’s definitely very intimidating sitting at a table with all these different utensils and glasses. Although at work I’ve help set up for weddings before, I had no idea what everything was for. Thanks for the post!

    Sarah Walkom

Leave a comment